top of page

SUNRISE SUITE is dedicated to the great tubist Ricardo Carvalhoso. The piece last 8 minutes approximately. It could be played on Tuba or Euphonium.


Some thoughts about the piece.

The composition captures the entire journey from the pre-dawn hours to the final moments of sunset. In its opening movement, the music weaves intricate and angular melodies that mirror the initial state of confusion that blankets the world. At this juncture, the Sun remains concealed, casting an air of mystery across the still-dark sky. Some flowers slumber, while others quiver with anticipation for the impending sunlight.
The subsequent movement bursts forth with vibrancy, embodying the impending arrival of dawn. As the Third Movement unfolds, the sun ascends, painting the landscape in a palette of light blue, delicate pink, and warm yellow hues. Birds awaken and take to the sky, flowers unfurl in joyful bloom, and within us, our spirits rise, poised to embrace the opportunities of a fresh day. Transitioning into the Fourth Movement, the sun begins its descent toward the horizon, casting a gentle glow that speaks to a profound sense of gratitude for the gift of life. The scene becomes a poignant symbol of the human experience, evoking feelings of hope and serenity.
The culmination arrives in the Coda Movement, tinged with a bittersweet undercurrent. The sun completes its journey below the horizon, evoking a sense of melancholy and even a touch of anxiety. Its abrupt disappearance offers a promise of return—a pledge to grace us with its light once again.

Sunrise Suite was commissioned by tubist Ricardo Carvalhoso.


Acerca de la pieza

La pieza retrata el proceso antes del amanecer hasta el atardecer. En el primer movimiento, la música muestra melodías angulares que evocan confusión. En esta etapa, el sol aún no se muestra y el cielo está oscuro y misterioso; algunas flores duermen mientras otras esperan impacientes la luz del sol. El segundo movimiento es más vibrante como símbolo del amanecer inminente. El Tercer Movimiento es cuando sale el sol sale formando el paisaje más hermoso lleno de colores azul claro, rosa y amarillo. Los pájaros despiertan y vuelan libremente, las flores y nuestras almas se elevan listas para comenzar un nuevo día. En el cuarto movimiento, el cielo comienza a oscurecer. Pero el sol permanece como símbolo de agradecimiento, por estar vivos y experimentar un paisaje magnífico que trae emociones de esperanza y paz. El Movimiento Coda muestra un poco de melancolía y ansiedad. El sol se oculta por completo en el horizonte de una manera muy repentina se siente como si el sol se despidiera con la promesa de que volverá.

Sunrise Suite es una pieza comisionada por el tubista Ricardo Carvalhoso.


    bottom of page